The D&H Canal Historical Society was established in 1966 to preserve, protect and perpetuate the unique history of the Delaware & Hudson Canal, particularly in Ulster County.
As part of fulfilling its mission, the Society operates a museum and maintains the Five Locks Walk, a National Historic Landmark. The D&H Canal is housed in a former Episcopal Church (completed in 1885) in the historic hamlet of High Falls, NY. The museum’s exhibits portray the canal’s history, and include a working model of a lock, a life-sized recreated canal boat cabin, a moving model of a gravity railroad brake car, financial documents, and dioramas of the gravity railroad and canal life. Many tools and artifacts are on display, along with original paintings by canal-era artists.
The D&H Canal Museum Store and Bookshop has a nostalgic 19th century flavor, and offers canal-related maps, cards, posters, and children’s toys and games for sale. Fiction and nonfiction books about the canal and its era are available for both child and adult readers.