The New Paltz School of Ballet is committed to inspiring students of all ages and abilities to attain the highest standards of each student’s individual potential, primarily through training in the art of classical ballet,and also in other genres of dance.


Our early childhood program is specially designed to provide children between three and seven years of age with a strong foundation in dance and movement. It teaches the young dancer the basic elements of movement and dance: space and how we relate to it, both as an individual and as a member of a group; the eight basic locomotive movements; musical rhythm; beat and time; opposites and directions; some elementary positions of ballet. Integrated with these physical concepts are the intellectual concepts of self-awareness, creative expression, imagination, teamwork, and basic body/space awareness.

Our intermediate level children around eight years of age undergo a change in class structure that’s in accordance with their physical and mental capabilities. The classes become more rigorous as their bodies adapt to the training. They begin striving to perfect their positions and quality of movement and are able to catch on to more complicated combinations of steps. As their physical characteristics mature they are able to acquire more strength for holding positions, doing steps quicker and jumping higher. It’s a fun time to watch them “catch fire” about their dancing.

This is where New Paltz School of Ballet shines. It is a school that can bring children to a top level. Lisa and Peter Naumann were themselves at the top of their field, which gives them a true understanding of the nuances in teaching it takes to make professional level ballet dancers. Peter and Lisa were taught by some of the world’s most renowned teachers of all time including, George Balanchine whom they worked with closely for many years, Andre Eglevsky, Alexandra Danilova, Felicia Doubrovska, Stanley Williams, Suki Shorer, Muriel Stuart, Leon Danileon, Frederich Franklin, Patricia Wilde, Anton Dolin, Robert Joffrey, Hector Zaraspi, David Howard, Jerome Robbins, Peter Martins, and others.